iriemade Skip to Content

4 Technical Classes of Diamonds That Every Buyer Should Know

What thoughts occur in your mind when you see a diamond? Many people perceive diamonds as clear, colorless dazzling stones that shine beautifully in the alluring light. You might call yourself a diamond expert who’s been shopping diamonds for years, but were you aware that there comes a wide variety of diamond types- all of which possess specific properties. 

Yes, the amazing stone you’ve been eyeing for a long time varies greatly in color, carat, shape, as well as quality. These classifications hold paramount importance if you’re thinking of buying wholesale diamonds, and determining how the stone will appear in the end product. It would work wonders if you keep reading on since it’s only best to get to know your diamonds a little better before you step out to shop for your choicest diamonds. 

Diverse types of diamonds- from the technical point of view:

It is the four C’s of diamonds that further lead to classifications in terms of the grading attributes. This type of factor helps the buyer’s in assessing how the diamonds came into being, how authentic it is, and what treatments it has undergone. The types of diamonds as per the technical classification are:

  • Type Ia Diamonds

This type of diamond has a yellowish tinge to it owing to the gathering of nitrogen in its stones. It is the most common and has numerous sub-sections to it- all thanks to the aggregation of nitrogen nature. 

  • Type IIa diamonds:

These diamonds come in strange shapes. Although this type doesn’t have nitrogen properties, yet they come with fluorescent properties. People have a keen eye towards this type of diamonds since they are valuable and rare because of the amazing sparkle they possess. 

  • Type Ib diamonds:

Type Ib diamonds are unique since the nitrogen atoms are scattered across the stone, which in turn produces an intense orange, brown or yellow color, in general. 

  • Type IIb diamonds:

This rare type of diamond has no nitrogen atoms. These have boron and carbon content, and are known to conduct electricity, and have a blue tinge. 

The above-mentioned are the four major types of diamonds based upon technical classification. In addition to these, there are other types of diamonds, which most shoppers classify. These are natural diamonds, natural-colored diamonds, man-made diamonds, and treated diamonds. Well, this looks like an easy classification, but it’s more complicated than this since one diamond can have more than one type of characters to fall under the technical system. All you’ve to do is become aware of the diamond types before embarking upon your diamond shopping journey. 

So if you’re a diamond lover, it’s the perfect time to get out of your comfort zone. We hope our guide could enlighten you about the most sparkling types of diamonds to make you fall in love with. Don’t cry for a diamond, step out and just grab it!

Pin It on Pinterest